EXERCISE ABOUT EXPRESSIONS

24/01/2013 11:37

When someone says "I'm broke" what do they mean?

 

 

1. When someone says: "I'm broke" What do they mean?
     I have no money.
  • I was in an accident.
  • I was robbed.

 

2. When someone says: "Lend me a hand" What do they mean?
  • They want you to shake their hand.
  • They want you to help them.
  • They want to wave goodbye to you.

 

3. When someone says: "Meet me at 2 o'clock, sharp!" What do they mean?
  • They want you to meet them at EXACTLY 2 o'clock.
  • The want you to meet them at 1 o'clock.
  • They want you to meet them after 2 o'clock.

 

4. When someone says: "I know this place like the back of my hand" What do they mean?
  • They have a map in their hand.
  • They know the place very well.
  • They are lost.

 

5. When someone says: "I'm sick and tired of my job" What do they mean?
  • They feel sick.
  • They want to go to sleep.
  • They hate their job.

 

6. When someone says: "I feel like I study 24/7" What do they mean?
  • They feel like they study every minute of every day.
  • They are studying math.
  • They don't like studying.