past tense

26/01/2013 15:41

 

PAST TENSE

Regular verbs:

 

LOS VERBOS REGULARES LOS CONJUGAMOS EN PASADO AÑADIENDO:

-ED.

Yesterday I walked to school.                              WALK---WALKED

Last week you walked to work.

 

HAY ALGUNAS EXCEPCIONES:

Verbos acabados en –E. AÑADIMOS   -D

I used the computer to do my homework.                     USE---USED

You used a ruler to draw these lines.

 

Verbos acabados en –y                 AÑADIMOS –IED (cambiando “y” por “i”)

Yesterday I studied a lot.               STUDY---STUDIED

CUIDADO, si el verbo tiene vocal delante de la ”y”, ésta no se cambia

PLAY PLAYED                               STAY STAYED

En la oración negativa e interrogativa no aparece la conjugación del verbo de esta forma.

La forma negativa se conjuga añadiendo DID, (es el pasado de DO), en presente ponemos ----Do you study in Marratxi? En pasado: Did you work in Marratxí? En presente “don’t / doesn’t”, en pasado DIDN’T.

Did you play basketball yesterday?    No, I didn’t.

Did you do your homework yesterday?

I didn’t do my homework because I was ill.

You didn’t use a ruler to draw these lines.

 

PAST TENSE IRREGULAR VERBS

 

Para conjugar los verbos irregulares es necesario tener en cuenta la lista de verbos irregulares.

Esta forma aparecerá solo en las oraciones afirmativas. Ya que en las negativas se conjugará añadiendo DIDN’T; Y EN LA INTERROGATIVA ----DID….?

BUY               Affirmative: Yesterday I bought a new dress.

Interrogative:   Did you buy a new dress yesterday?  (ojo!!!, “yesterday” al final de la pregunta)

Negative:      No, I didn’t buy a new dress.

Go                  Affirmative: Last week you went to the swimming-pool.

Interrogative:          Did you go to the swimming-pool last week?

Negative:      I didn’t go to the swimming-pool last week.

 TO BE AND CAN

Algunos verbos llamados verbos auxiliares y modales no conjugan el pasado de la misma manera que el resto de los verbos. En las oraciones afirmativas se conjugan como verbos irregulares.

BE--------I was ill yesterday.

You were happy when you won the game.

She/he was short when she was eight years old.

We were good students.

You were tired when you came home.

They were at school when the storm began.

CAN----------------I Could swim when I was four years old.

You could dance at the party.

She/he could study in her/his bedroom.

We could go to school on foot.

You could have a good meal at your granny’s house.

They could work at the office.

LA DIFERENCIA ES COMO HACEN LA ORACIÓN EN NEGATIVO E INTERROGATIVO, YA QUE AL SER VERBOS AUXILIARES Y MODALES NO NECESITAN LA PARTÍCULA   DID

TO BE----WAS/WERE                   WASN’T/WEREN’T

I wasn’t  ill yesterday.                   You weren’t happy.

She wasn’t at the school when the storm began.

Question:

Were you ill yesterday?                           Was she tired last week?

 

CAN---COULD                                COULDN’T

Negative.

I couldn’t swim when I was five years old.

You couldn’t remember my birthday.

She/he couldn’t stop smoking.

We couldn’t go on excursion because it was raining.

Interrogative.

Could you swim when you were six years old?

Could we ask the teacher?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 PAST TENSE

 

Regular verbs:

 

LOS VERBOS REGULARES LOS CONJUGAMOS EN PASADO AÑADIENDO:

-ED.

Yesterday I walked to school.                              WALK---WALKED

Last week you walked to work.

 

HAY ALGUNAS EXCEPCIONES:

Verbos acabados en –E. AÑADIMOS   -D

I used the computer to do my homework.                     USE---USED

You used a ruler to draw these lines.

 

Verbos acabados en –y                 AÑADIMOS –IED (cambiando “y” por “i”)

Yesterday I studied a lot.               STUDY---STUDIED

CUIDADO, si el verbo tiene vocal delante de la ”y”, ésta no se cambia

PLAY PLAYED                               STAY STAYED

En la oración negativa e interrogativa no aparece la conjugación del verbo de esta forma.

La forma negativa se conjuga añadiendo DID, (es el pasado de DO), en presente ponemos ----Do you study in Marratxi? En pasado: Did you work in Marratxí? En presente “don’t / doesn’t”, en pasado DIDN’T.

Did you play basketball yesterday?    No, I didn’t.

Did you do your homework yesterday?

I didn’t do my homework because I was ill.

You didn’t use a ruler to draw these lines.

 

PAST TENSE IRREGULAR VERBS

 

Para conjugar los verbos irregulares es necesario tener en cuenta la lista de verbos irregulares.

Esta forma aparecerá solo en las oraciones afirmativas. Ya que en las negativas se conjugará añadiendo DIDN’T; Y EN LA INTERROGATIVA ----DID….?

BUY               Affirmative: Yesterday I bought a new dress.

Interrogative:   Did you buy a new dress yesterday?  (ojo!!!, “yesterday” al final de la pregunta)

Negative:      No, I didn’t buy a new dress.

Go                  Affirmative: Last week you went to the swimming-pool.

Interrogative:          Did you go to the swimming-pool last week?

Negative:      I didn’t go to the swimming-pool last week.

 TO BE AND CAN

Algunos verbos llamados verbos auxiliares y modales no conjugan el pasado de la misma manera que el resto de los verbos. En las oraciones afirmativas se conjugan como verbos irregulares.

BE--------I was ill yesterday.

You were happy when you won the game.

She/he was short when she was eight years old.

We were good students.

You were tired when you came home.

They were at school when the storm began.

CAN----------------I Could swim when I was four years old.

You could dance at the party.

She/he could study in her/his bedroom.

We could go to school on foot.

You could have a good meal at your granny’s house.

They could work at the office.

LA DIFERENCIA ES COMO HACEN LA ORACIÓN EN NEGATIVO E INTERROGATIVO, YA QUE AL SER VERBOS AUXILIARES Y MODALES NO NECESITAN LA PARTÍCULA   DID

TO BE----WAS/WERE                   WASN’T/WEREN’T

I wasn’t  ill yesterday.                   You weren’t happy.

She wasn’t at the school when the storm began.

Question:

Were you ill yesterday?                           Was she tired last week?

 

CAN---COULD                                COULDN’T

Negative.

I couldn’t swim when I was five years old.

You couldn’t remember my birthday.

She/he couldn’t stop smoking.

We couldn’t go on excursion because it was raining.

Interrogative.

Could you swim when you were six years old?

Could we ask the teacher?